EMS Whittaker Prize

Sir Edmund Whittaker Memorial Prize
of the Edinburgh Mathematical Society

After the death of Sir Edmund Whittaker in 1956 his son John Whittaker most generously gave on behalf of the Whittaker Family the sum of £500 to the Edinburgh Mathematical Society to establish a prize for mathematical work in memory of his father. The main rules governing the award of the prize are as follows:
  1. Prizes will be awarded for published work of particular merit in pure mathematics, applied mathematics, mathematical statistics or mathematical physics.

  2. Normally one or more prizes of at least £50 will be awarded at four-yearly intervals, but an award may be withheld if no eligible work of sufficient merit has been published.

  3. A candidate for a prize
    1. must be 35 years of age or less at the time of the award,

    2. must either be a graduate of a Scottish University and/or have been engaged in postgraduate research in Scotland for at least three years.

    No prizewinner shall be eligible thereafter.

The winners are listed below:

1961 A G Mackie and A H Wallace

1965 J B McLeod

1970 D J S Robinson

1973 A M Davie

1977 G Brown and C A Stuart

1981 J M Ball

1985 J Howie

1989 A A Lacey and M Röckner

1993 M A Berger and A W Reid

1997 A D Rendall

2001 M L McQuillan and J A Sherratt

2005 T Bridgeland

MacTutor links:

History of the EMS
Presidents of the EMS
Treasurers of the EMS
Secretaries of the EMS

EMS Prizes etc:

EMS Whittaker Prize
EMS Honorary Members
EMS Founder Members

Other Web site:

EMS Web site

Index of Societies Index of Honours, etc.
Main index Biographies Index

JOC/EFR October 2016

The URL of this page is: