LMS Pólya Prize

The Pólya Prize of the London Mathematical Society

The Pólya Prize is awarded in memory of Professor G. Pólya, who was a Member (and later Honorary Member) of the Society for about 60 years. It is awarded in those years, not numbered by a multiple of three, in which the De Morgan Medal is not available for award. The Pólya Prize is awarded in recognition of outstanding creativity in, imaginative exposition of, or distinguished contribution to, mathematics within the United Kingdom. It may not be awarded to any person who has previously received the De Morgan Medal.

1987 J H Conway
1988 C T C Wall
1990 G B Segal
1991 I G Macdonald
1993 D Rees
1994 D Williams

1996 D E Edmunds
1997 J M Hammersley
1999 S K Donaldson
2000 T J Lyons
2002 N J Hitchin
2003 A J Macintyre

2005 M V Berry
2006 H P F Swinnerton-Dyer
2008 D Preiss
2009 R Heath-Brown
2011 E B Davies

MacTutor links:

London Mathematical Society
History of the LMS
Presidents of the LMS
LMS Presidential Addresses
LMS Honorary Members

LMS Prizes etc:

LMS De Morgan Medal
LMS Berwick Prize
LMS Whitehead Prize
LMS Senior Whitehead Prize
LMS Naylor Prize
LMS Pólya Prize
LMS Frölich Prize

Other Web sites:

LMS Web site
Other LMS prizewinners

Index of Societies Index of Honours, etc.
Main index Biographies Index

JOC/EFR October 2016

The URL of this page is: