Bruce Medallists

Bruce Medallists of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific

The highest honour of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific is the Catherine Wolfe Bruce gold medal, for lifetime contributions to astronomy. It has been awarded most years since 1898. Below are those mathematicians in our archive who have received this honour.

1898 Newcomb
1909 Hill
1911 Poincaré
1920 Brown
1924 Eddington
1931 Sitter
1938 Hubble
1945 Milne
1952 Chandrasekhar
1970 Hoyle

Other Web site:

Astronomical Society of the Pacific Web site
contains a full list of Bruce Medallists.

Index of Societies, honours, etc.
Welcome page Biographies Index
History Topics Index Famous curves index
Chronology Time lines
Mathematicians of the day Anniversaries for the year
Search Form Birthplace Maps

JOC/EFR March 2015

The URL of this page is: